Tag Archives: Virginia Symphony Orchestra

Virginia Symphony, October 31, 2009, Halloween night

Philippe Quint, violin soloist

Philippe Quint, violin soloist

Halloween night at Chrysler Hall with the Virginia Symphony.

Excellent performance.

Soloist, Philippe Quint had everyone smiling because he was.  You think you’ve heard it all/won’t hear any thing different  when it comes to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.   Well, Quint provided a pleasant unfolding of the piece.  The Smiles, the exuberant performance, the engaging of the orchestra (catching the eyes of the other musicians) by Quint provided a soloist performance the audience thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated.  The Four Seasons never sounded so good!  Bravo!!!

Philippe Quint, violin soloist receiving his applause

Philippe Quint, violin soloist receiving his applause for an excellent performance

The balance of the program  also provided an enjoyable experience.

Don Juan, Opus 20 by Strauss.  Tone poem.  This piece provided the horn section and principal oboe an opportunity to show their chops.  They did.

Suite from L’oiseau de feu 1919 Version by Stravinsky.   ~Otherwise known as Firebird.  Very Russian in orchestration.  Full orchestra.  Beautiful sound.

The Associate Conductor, Matthew Kraemer, conducted for the evening’s performance.


VSO Season opener, September 12, 2009

  Virginia Symphony Orchestra season opening night at Chrysler Hall, Norfolk, Virginia. 

 Joanne Falletta, Conductor.

The Orchestra was wonderful, as always.  {I am a fan, not a critic}  Ms. Falletta and the Orchestra start out the season by playing the “Star Spangled Banner”.  She conducts the audience in a sing along.  That has been the routine I have observed for the last 12 years.

VSO Opening Night, September 12, 2009

VSO Opening Night, September 12, 2009

  The Virginia Symphony Orchestra is a  lynch-pin to the Arts in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia.
   As a result of the economic issues at this time, the Orchestra’s “Classics at Chrysler” series is limited to 8 performances instead of the normal 10 performances. 

 The program:
          STRAVINSKY – Feu d’artifice (Fireworks), op.4     Short piece.  Complex and lots of percussion.  *This piece was a prelude to Stravinsky’s famous ballets: Firebird, Petrouchka, and The Rite of Spring.*
          BEETHOVEN – “Emperpor”  Concerto No. 5 inE-flat major for Piano and Orchestra, op. 73  Benedetto Lupo, pianist   *Beethoven’s last concerto.  The middle movement is just beautiful.*
          SHOSTAKOVICH – Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47    Intense.  *Controversy surrounds Shostakovich and his body of work, regarding his relationship to Stalin and Stalin’s domination of the Arts (and country) during Stalin’s EMPERORSHIP of the Soviet Union.*

Pianist, Benedetto Lupo

Pianist, Benedetto Lupo

Benedetto Lupo, the soloist for the evening.  Can’t say it better than the program notes:  “The critics description: “exceptionally fine pianist… who has a remarkably fine touch and beautiful
tone control” (Oregonian).  ….”meticulous technique with romantic sensitivity” (Birminghom News).”               Sensitive touch and really fast fingers.

Happy to have the music season resume!





VSO opening night (Virginia Symphony Orchestra)

Virginia Symphony Orchestra, September 13, 2008
Virginia Symphony Orchestra, September 13, 2008
Opening night for the new season with the Virginia
Symphony Orchestra is always an anticipated pleasure.
Last night provided confirmation of that emotion.  This is my eleventh (11) year as a regular symphony audience participant.   [The season tickets started out as a  vehicle for  Lesley’s (my daughter)  music  education.   After  Lesley  left for  UVA, I wanted to continue MY music experience.  Cousin Connie  stepped in for the other ticket. – but, I digress]
Ms. Falletta always leads the audience and orchestra to a rousing performance of the ‘Star Spangled Banner’ on the opening night of the Orchestra’s new season.
What a wonderful performance opening night!!  Copeland – El Salon Mexico and Dohnanyi – Suite in F-Sharp minor were the two selections before the intermission.   Tchaikovsky ‘ s Concerto No. 1 in b-flat minor  was the ‘after intermission’ selection.  That instantly recognised opening, the  skill and interpretation displayed  by the pianist Ian Parker, combined with the VSO, capped the evening.  Mr. Parker did perform an encore.  “A nice time was had by all.”
Ian Parker performs with the VSO, Sept. 13, 2008

Ian Parker performs with the VSO, Sept. 13, 2008